Hair Disaster: L’Oréal Paris Colorista Review

Hey guys,

I hope that you are all doing super well. Today i want to talk to you about the truly raved about L’Oréal Colorista Washout coloured hair dyes and how they worked for me.

*Pause – my high-end beauty giveaway is still on, go and enter, click here!*

Disclaimer: As you might see in the title this review is not going to be on a positive note! I always try to look for the best in every product but this just made my days more disastrous and stressing than fun. Saying that, if you have used this product and it works great for you – i’m so happy to hear and carry on using it! This is just my personal experience.

Let’s get straight into it, enjoy!


I have purchased the pastel blue dye from the L’Oréal Colorista Washout range around eight weeks ago now. I would see all the YouTubers that i follow use that range with amazing results and no complications. That was enough for me to go and grab myself a box of course. I always wanted to have a pastel dip dye on my hair, but without the actual long-term commitment, and this product seemed to be ideal.

Loreal.jpg

It was on offer for £6 from Boots and Superdrug. I picked up the pastel blue shade although i was so tempted to buy one box of each available colour. Thankfully i didn’t because it would now go to waste!

Applying it was straight forward, i used a comb to weave the product through the bottom ends of my hair and blend it in with my blonde to give a gradual dip-dye effect. I left it on for approximately 10 minutes as i didn’t want it to be too intense. I proceeded to wash my hair with some warm water & my Bleach London silver shampoo and conditioner to mute the colour to be less bright. It worked, i was in love and all my friends thought it was cool. No disaster story … yet!

Weeks have passed and i casually washed my hair three times a week. However, the colour was getting brighter and more intense rather than wash out. The box said that it should be gone by the tenth wash, well it clearly wasn’t the case for me. I began to get more and more stressed, being a law student i can’t have hair like that for much longer! To make the matters worse, some strands where the pastel blue dye was applied instead of the hair going back to blonde … it went darker brown! I did my digging online and some other people also found this product problematic to their hair, even to the extent where the colour muted green.

Here i am today still trying to get that stuff properly out of my hair. I don’t know why i am having such a horrible experience with the Colorista range. I wanted to love it so much. I really do believe that this product is not what they say on the box; it must have some stronger chemicals in it to keep its pigmentation for longer than the claimed ten washes & to change hair colour while washing out. Although they have their “special” shampoo to wash out this product, it is £8 and doesn’t really help. Waste of money really. I have spoken to my hairdresser and she recommended washing my hair with Head & Shoulders in combination with the red Fairy Liquid on the blue areas, so i shall continue until the colour is gone at last!


On one hand, i strongly advise to all of you with light blonde hair NOT TO BUY THIS. It might seem like fun but if it goes wrong for you like it did for me you then you will sadly regret it. Yes, the YouTubers you watch recommend this range in every video – but they most likely get paid for that and can afford more hairdresser trips than most of us. They wouldn’t be able to express their true opinions. On the other hand, if you don’t mind your hair being bright and colourful for a longer time then you could potentially enjoy this.

On the other hand, those of you with darker hair – this might actually be an amazing product for you because your hair won’t be as pigment prone as blondes.


Are you having troubles with the L’Oréal Colorista range? Or, are you loving it? How did you go about removing the shades from your hair? I would love to find out in the comment section below!

Thanks for reading, i hope that this was especially helpful to those who are struggling with washing their Colorista colours out.

Like, comment, share & follow my blog! It takes one second for you & encourages me to carry on creating fun content for you lovely readers!


signature.png

Instagram | Facebook | TwitterBloglovin’


32 thoughts on “Hair Disaster: L’Oréal Paris Colorista Review

    • Thank you, i hope it comes out soon also! If not i’ll just need to go and get my hair bleached 😦

      It is just so disappointing that it says “washout” and that it works best on light blonde hair, when in reality it leaves nasty pigments behind! You’re welcome, i wonder if there are many more people with a similar experience to mine!

      Have you considered using this range? x

      Liked by 1 person

      • My sister wanted to dye her hair blonde and then use these colours. I am now telling her not to do that!!
        But I’ve never used them before, sorry, I sadly don’t have any tips for you…. x

        Liked by 1 person

      • yana says:

        Same colour, won’t wash out either and became green instead. But well, i live in a rat hole village, so that’s ok… but now just curious how to cover that mess up and what xolour to apply to make my hair look normal again

        Like

  1. Wow, I’m sorry this happened to you, hope your hair will go back to normal soon. My hair is way too dark to even try these. It’s a shame that so many YouTubers promote these, from what I’ve heard this whole range performes poorly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • :)! Thank you for your lovely comment. Of course, i am surprised that they even want to do such false advertisement! I did my research after i used the colour, and people said so many bad things on L’Oreals page and the business ignores them!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope your hair gets back to normal soon! I’ve been thinking about using something from this range but just wasn’t too sure. I have a weird hair colour it’s Almost an ashy blonde. I don’t think I’ll be picking this up anymore as I’ve never been desperate to use it I just thought it’d be fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Klaudia says:

    Hi, I am a student on a hairdressing course. About one week ago I had a client with similar problem. The best way to remove the blue colour is the peroxide bath. This will allow you to light your hair without using a bleach. This is really simple and won’t take a lot of time. Just buy a 3% peroxide and mix it with your shampoo, in ratio 1:1. Wash your hair as normal, then add this solution and massage into your hair for about 5 minutes and rinse off. You can repeat this two times. Wash and condidtion your hair after. Be carefully and don’t leave it for too long. You can do this once a week until your hail colour comes back to normal. I hope this will be helpful;)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am so sorry to hear it didn’t work out for you. I find that if you don’t bleach your hair first. It never turns out to be the way how you want it to be. However, so far my friends and I have had no problems with it! Still loving my Colorista and I’m really debating if I should change up the color a bit. Note: currently obsessed with Lime Crime’s hair colors too! Check them out! http://www.limecrime.com

    👌✌🤗😘😘😘😘😘

    Like

  5. I had similar experience, I used colorista lilac shade and straight after first wash the blondest tips of my hair went to a greenish/blue/grey colour. I can’t get it off even though I have used lightening spray containing peroxide and silver shampoo.. it just makes the greenish shade lighter but doesn’t remove it.. I have always been super cautious about experimenting with my hair but as it only said on the packaging that the colour can last longer on more porous hair, I wasn’t too worried as the lilac shade was quite nice and warm shade. I didnt expect it to turn to green which looks horrid with my warm blonde hair!! They really should have a warning that it might stain your hair.. I will try Klaudia’s tip of peroxide bath.. please let me know if it worked for you or if there was any other method that helped!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, i am so sorry to hear about your awful experience with Colorista too! I definitely think that they should give blondes pre-caution of using their range! I managed to get the staining out now, after 3 months without the help of a hairdresser. I washed my hair almost every day and deep conditioned it over night with coconut oil so that it regenerates. I cannot say that i have gone back to my previous shade of blonde now as it definitely is more warm toned than cold. It was such a disaster! Never experimenting with my hair again. What steps have you taken to remove it now? x

      Like

  6. Filiz Keskin says:

    Hi, I colored all of my natural light brown hair with red colorista. I did it just because it says it will wash out! It has been 3 weeks and i cleaned it almost everyday& doing some extra natural stuff(such as baking soda) for a week but its still faded red! I dont think it will come out for a long time and i am very sad. I am also a law student, can’t we really do anything about it? Product is a total failure because i may never get my natural hair color again till it grows! 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am so sorry to hear you had an awful experience with Colorista also! I really hope you manage to get your desired colour back, my blonde will never be the same until I make a hairdresser’s appointment! Did you try leaving fairy wash liquid on your hair as a mask for 5-10 minutes & using head & shoulders as a shampoo until it fades further? But if you do that please remember to moisturise your hair with a good conditioner! It’s also cool to find a fellow law student – where do you study and what year are you in? I am sure that if we could find enough people here that are distressed by the Colorista range we could start a case against L’Oréal haha! Xo

      Like

      • Filiz Keskin says:

        Hi thanks for your answer :> i might try fairy sometime, but i am kinda hopeless. I study law in Turkey and i am 3rd grade, loreal is a big company so we need more fellows ahahah! Have a nice day & great blog btw :3

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Have not been able to get the hair colour out either. On the 15 th failed wash, I called Loreal to complain. The lady suggested I mix baking soda and head and shoulders into a paste and then apply it. Just like the colour fader shampoo, this left my hair incredibly dry. The baking soda paste did nothing for my hair. Still blue (actually green). So disappointed. Absolutely not work the money and stress.

    Like

  8. Devan says:

    Ah, if only I’d found this blog two weeks ago! I did the same blue shade, thinking it would be super fun for a short term change… not so much. I used it all over and it came out like unicorn hair! It was lavender, blue, silver, teal… I figured whatever, it’s kinda cool even if not what I intended, and it washes out, no biggie. Multiple washes, multiple shampoos, and my hair is green. And grey. And sorta blondeish. It’s AWFUL! I’m a few more attempts at washing away from going back brunette just to get rid of it. This product was a MASSIVE fail for me… so sad when you consider what a salon visit costs these days 😥

    Like

  9. I’m so sorry about your hair, it is one of the biggest sucks in life. I use the pink one and it works well. Maybe you should try this one day! 🙂

    Like

  10. Leanne Brosnan says:

    I am currently sitting here with fairy liquid in my hair ready to cry.. I bought the lilac shade and it looked so pretty at first…After washing it a few times it turned a hideous shade of green… I have tried baking soda, lemon juice, head and shoulders… My water bill will be huge with all the washing I am doing!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Alyson Rooney says:

    Hi, my 11 yr old daughter has dark brown her past her backside! She’s been wanting a faded in look on her hair for ages in blue. As she’s so young there’s no way I was going to let her get her hair bleached to be able to do it but when I saw this product which on some colours said it would give vibrant results on her hair, we went for it with a turquoise colour. All it achieved was blue hands when the glove ripped! No colour change at all!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

